My Connections to Play

WHAT PLAY REPRESENTED IN MY CHILDHOOD?

As a child, play only had one meaning for me.  It was a time where I was given the opportunity to spend time with my childhood friends, cousins, and neighbors.  It was a chance at bonding, and being free.

quote_learningfunny_kids_school_gift_card-p137061749531707897bhc2d_325

ESSENTIAL PLAY ITEMS FOR ME

WOODEN LETTER BLOCKS

CHALK FOR HOPSCOTCH

OUTDOOR SLIDE & SWING     

PLAY THEN VS PLAY NOW

In the generation where I was developed from, my play was spent mostly utilizing nature.  Although toys were bought on special occasions, my parents expected me to make the best of what I had in the environment.  It was nothing for my cousins, neighbors, and I to use several sheets to cover the porch, or sticks to make a hopscotch path. We found fun in raking a pile of leaves just to jump inside of.   Most of my childhood memories of play were experienced outside.

As a parent of children in today’s generation, my children are more engaged in indoor toys. My husband and I make several attempts to provide toys that are self-sufficient that doesn’t create “lazy children”, but its hard when technology is growing so much.  The advancement of technology are taking the toys that we utilized as children and putting them on electronic devices.  This then takes away from the physical development of children.

One thought on “My Connections to Play

  1. Quinny,
    You brought back memories. Hopscotch was a love of mine. I could play for hours. I had a neighbor across the street, her front yard was filled with the exact size pebbles we needed to participate in an intense few rounds of this hopping, counting, and balancing game.

    Like

Leave a Reply

